What to do, what to do…

This week I began taking on the large task of narrowing down my thesis project to one method, architecture, or plan, of how I will attempt to revitilize Detroit. My intentions aren’t to fix everything, thats impossible, but to implement one thing that will have an effect on everything… or almost everything. Upon speaking with my advisor(s) and classmates, I believe that I’ve narrowed down my focus to two possible projects. The infamous train station, and master planning; creating a city of communities. Lots and lots and lots of research is going to be done this weekend for me to make this decision, as I believe both will benifit the city immensly. Because of the information I gathered when I went to Detroit last month, most people tell me that they would most like to see the train station revitilized. Its such an iconic piece of architecture that no one in the community wants to see go to waste… so I can’t help but lean towards this project.

However, interventions on Michigan Central Depot cannot be addressed without addressing the building’s owner, Manuel “Matty” Maroun. He, like the train station, is this iconic figure in Detroit’s development, as he owns so much property there. If I address the train station, what happens if I also address and intervene on his other properties? What could we create? Check out this exerpt from an interview he recently gave, in which he talks about the train station:

“What would you suggest I do with it?” he asked. “I can’t keep the thieves out until I put something in it, but what can I put in it? I’m willing, anxious. Where is the fairness? Where is the reasonableness? Give me something that I could put in it.”

Read more: http://detroit.blogs.time.com/2010/04/12/hero-or-villain-matty-moroun-on-his-detroit-holdings/#ixzz1a7eImimG

About detroitisazombie

Master of Architecture student at Newschool of Architecture and Design in San Diego, CA. Born and raised in America's high-five state and beginning my thesis work on the revitalization of my favorite city, Detroit. This blog will log my research, discovery, and project evolution. http://www.linkedin.com/in/lrodarch84 View all posts by detroitisazombie

2 responses to “What to do, what to do…

  • vintage

    Whelp. They’re already starting renovation on the train station.. still not sure what they’re doing but they’re at least trying to keep it standing.

    • detroitisazombie

      The only thing he has done to the depot is removed the old broken windows from the front entrance, and cleaned up some debres from the interior. In the near future they are going to replace the roof and the rest of the windows. But no tenants are moving in and no use for the building has been designated. A major major renovation would need to take place if he were planning on moving tennants in… and so far, thats not happening.

Leave a Reply

