Detroit Visit

Today was my first visit into Detroit since I’ve been home. My grandmother wanted to take me into “New Center”, where The Fisher Building, and the old General Motors Building are located.  These structures have great bones, and still stand tall and proud. (You can see more of the pictures I took in my flikr page.)

My grandparents also took me to The Michigan Central Depot Train Station this afternoon. It really is fascinating. I’ve never had the opportunity to get this close to this massive structure… its overwhelming. The entire building is surrounded with fences and barbed wire to keep people out. Windows have decayed and signs of vandalism can clearly be seen from the sidewalk. Concrete pavement now covers what used to be brick paved, and in some areas, you can still see the brick poking through. Apparently, the man who owns it also owns the Ambassador Bridge that leads to Canada, but refuses to both sell the building or restore it. There have been rumors lately that he is replacing the windows, giving hope to the city that they might once again see this beautiful building restored… however, upon my visit, I saw absolutely no evidence of restoration or renovation. I have many more things to see on my visit home, but I have a feeling that this building could lead me towards a point of departure for my thesis project.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tomorrow I am planning on venturing into the city to see more historic structures, and at 6pm am going on a guided tour of some of the more popular vacant buildings in the city. Wish me luck!

About detroitisazombie

Master of Architecture student at Newschool of Architecture and Design in San Diego, CA. Born and raised in America's high-five state and beginning my thesis work on the revitalization of my favorite city, Detroit. This blog will log my research, discovery, and project evolution. http://www.linkedin.com/in/lrodarch84 View all posts by detroitisazombie

One response to “Detroit Visit

Leave a Reply

